World of Warcraft

A hugely immersive, multiplayer, online, community driven, Mac/PC game that I have been playing since 2012. I would have started sooner but back when I was originally invited, I was busy working through my undergrad bachelor of science. Friends of mine had asked me if I’d care to join them while they smoked hookah and raided and I remember thinking, wow, what weird folks…LOL. Funny how things like that come back to make you look silly!

As you know, I’m a Vocal Trance fan and for several months while listening to Digitally Imported radio, I kept getting these ads about this dumb sounding game called World of Warcraft. I decided that I’d click on the banner to get the damn thing to shut the hell up and stop bothering me. When I first got into the game, I had no idea what I was doing and I felt so utterly lost and helpless but, I kept after it and probably signed into the game once a month or so between playing my main games. At the time I was heavily grinding stats in Battlefield II, I was car racing in Halo Combat Evolved online and occasionally killing Allies in Castle Wolfenstein Enemy Territory. Well, for starters, WoW is nothing like any of those games. It’s a totally different type of game that you setup at your own pace, it has storylines often referred to as Lore and different types of gameplay such as Player Versus Player, Player Versus Environment, Roll Playing and others. As I mentioned, WoW is immersive! There are several different “worlds” within World of Warcraft, some on different timelines, each with their own races, cities and competing factions for greater good or fantastic evil.
world-of-warcraft.jpg
You start off by picking your own faction, either Horde or Alliance and then you get to pick your class, ranging from Hunters to Druids to Death Knights and many more. The permutations of gameplay are somewhat innumerable for a blog but suffice to say, there is so much going on that you could potentially spend your entire life playing this game and still have things to do. Some of my favorite things are the locations in the worlds, the stories like that of Lady Sylvanas Windrunner and her plight against the Litch King.  Over the years, through voice chat or text in game, I have also made close friends, enemies and other outliers =) I’ve killed almost 20,000 players this expansion, I think I’ve been banned twice since I started playing, had one of my guilds forcefully renamed by Blizzard because apparently it was sexist, ran several successful groups with booming populations of players and otherwise completely immersed myself in the World of Warcraft. I could tell about a thousand stories, show you the most breathtaking and spectacular places and reminisce of so many memories I’ve made in the game but at the end of the day, nothing beats your own experience. If you haven’t tried it, I definitely recommend. If you do decide to join and you did so while reading my post, shoot me a message and I’ll personally invite you to the game which will give you a month of free game play among many other benefits. No, I don’t work for Blizzard, yet =P

Further reading: https://worldofwarcraft.com/en-us/game/new-players-guide

Leave a Reply

